some eI’ve been in marketing for the last seven years. Last month, I started a new job as a marketing director for a beauty company.

A good portion of our revenue comes from business to business. Because of that, we have plenty of affiliate training material that we work with.

I have been working on a storyboard for a whiteboard animation that would be used in both our affiliate training and our social media marketing (lots of buzz words. Stay with me.)

Today, I finalized a deal with a vendor to create the whiteboard animation. We have been discussing the details via email for the last week or so. Today, I sent him our final proposal and submitted payment through his site. I then sent an email confirming payment and that he understood what I was expecting from him.

This was the response I got. From a professional. That I do not know. That I’ve never worked with before:

“Gotcha covered girlie! I’ll be in touch””

Um, excuse me?

To say that I’m irritated doesn’t reflect my anger. I apologize to The Husband, because I know I’ll fixate on this for days. If I wasn’t on a deadline, and out of the office tomorrow, I would have stopped payment then and there.

You can scream “gender equality in the workplace” all you want, but this is what it’s like for professional women in 2014. A Bachelor’s degree and seven years of experience and I’m still referred to as “girlie.”

If this first project turns out well, I have a substantial budget to go ahead and create more. Needless to say, I will not be working with this “boi” in the future.

