PINKY promise this won’t turn into a “mommy blog”. Buuuuut, every week most weeks , I’ll be doing these updates. If they bore you, feel free to go ahead and wait for the next post. But you probably shouldn’t skip these, because we all know how funny I am and, also, Discovery Channel is live in my body RIGHT NOW! Don’t you care about science?!

week 16 pregnancy sizeWeek: 16 – Baby is the size of an avocado

What baby is up to this week: Get ready for a growth spurt. In the next few weeks, your baby will double his weight and add inches to his length. Right now, he’s about the size of an avocado: 4 1/2 inches long (head to rump) and 3 1/2 ounces. His legs are much more developed, his head is more erect than it has been, and his eyes have moved closer to the front of his head. His ears are close to their final position, too. The patterning of his scalp has begun, though his locks aren’t recognizable yet. He’s even started growing toenails. And there’s a lot happening inside as well. For example, his heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day, and this amount will continue to increase as your baby continues to develop.

Food cravings and aversions: I still wouldn’t turn down a Friendly’s quesadilla, although I haven’t had one since last time. As previously mentioned, I’m into donuts, although I’m trying not to be. No real food aversions anymore. Well, I still can’t look at raw chicken, but once my lovely husband cooks it for me, I can eat it.

Baby items purchased/received: Not much this week. A couple pairs of feety jammies, which are incredibly precious. And Aunt Linda bought Baby S. a bedtime book about mama and baby animals, which is so cute and thoughtful.

Favorite moment: Man, the last couple of weeks have been pretty lame, I guess. I’d say that it was feeling some flutters, but I’m still not positive I did. It may have been gas. But I think it was the baby. But also, possibly gas. I will keep you updated on both the movements of our tiny human and my flatulence.

Thoughts: That this baby is going to be born and will come home and live at our house and omg our house isn’t ready for a baby! We’re working on putting together a calendar of projects we want to complete, including: cleaning up the basement, hanging cupboards up in our spare bedroom for our linens (they’re currently in the dresser that will be the baby’s), a pseudo-bathroom remodel upstairs (which includes a paint job, adding a new vanity and fixing up the tub) and possibly painting the baby’s bedroom based on the gender (We should find out the beginning of September. The room is currently a lilac so if we find out we have a little lady moving into our house, the room may stay that color.)

(I didn’t do a 15 week (a navel orange) update because not much has been going on around these parts. My little, teeny tiny bump has pretty much stayed the same since week 14. I’d like to believe that at this point in the pregnancy, status quo is a good thing, but what do I know?)

