I PINKY promise this won’t turn into a “mommy blog”. Buuuuut, every week, I’ll be doing these updates. If they bore you, feel free to go ahead and wait for the next post. But you probably shouldn’t skip these, because we all know how funny I am and, also, Discovery Channel is live in my body RIGHT NOW! Don’t you care about science?!

baby week 14 lemonWeek: 14 – Baby is the size of a lemon

What baby is up to this week: Your baby can now squint, frown, grimace, and possibly suck his thumb! Thanks to brain impulses, his facial muscles are getting a workout as his tiny features form one expression after another. He can grasp, too, and if you’re having an ultrasound now, you may even catch him sucking his thumb.  From head to bottom, he measures 3 1/2 inches and he weighs 1 1/2 ounces. His body’s growing faster than his head, which now sits upon a more distinct neck. By the end of this week, his arms will have grown to a length that’s in proportion to the rest of his body. (His legs still have some lengthening to do.) He’s starting to develop an ultra-fine, downy covering of hair, called lanugo, all over his body. Though you can’t feel his tiny punches and kicks yet, those little hands and feet are more flexible and active.

Food cravings and aversions: I think this is the first week where I’ve SERIOUSLY had a craving. I went to Friendly’s for lunch with a girlfriend last weekend, with my mind randomly set on a chicken quesadilla and mashed potatoes with gravy. BUT FRIENDLY’S RUINED EVERYTHING. We went at 11:45 and they serve breakfast until noon on Sundays. What?! After some unsuccessful attempts at coercion, I was left to order a bagel. But I couldn’t stop thinking about my lunch that would never be. Later in the day, after listening to me talk about it for hours, Jay had me order it to-go and he went and picked it up. Awww, amirite?

A few days later, nobody felt like cooking. Where did I want to go to dinner? Friendly’s. What did I order? A chicken quesadilla and mashed potatoes with gravy. I could have had it for dinner yesterday, too. And I certainly wouldn’t mind eating it today. But our bank account and my waistline have other plans, so I’m going to try to limit our Friendly’s trips to once twice a week.

where the wild things are toys stuffed animalsBaby items purchased: Over the weekend, we went down to the city for a concert and to visit friends (and to deliver them our big news in person!) We made a run into FAO Schwartz, with hopes of buying my “niece” (my bestest’s little girl) a birthday present. We came across a clearance bin, with puppets from Where the Wild Things Are. I picked up two and made my first official purchase for our little guy/gal. (They go along with our nursery theme. Can you guess it?)

Favorite moment: Lots of favorites this week. Going to a Jay-Z & Justin Timberlake concert at Yankee Stadium, while 3 months pregnant, in 103* heat will be a memory that neither of us will forget (Sorry for crying at a concert, Jay. But it.was.so.HOT!). Telling Jason’s best friends (since childhood) that we were pregnant was awesome. And, of course, making our “official” announcement to the rest of our family and friends. It’s all still a little surreal.

Thoughts: One night this week, we were bored and looked up gender predictions based on old wives’ tales. Jason read off 8 different tales, and every single one of them pointed to the same gender. We even did science! I peed in a cup and added baking soda. Whatever. If the cup fizzed, like a shaken bottle of soda, it’s supposed to be a boy. If it doesn’t do anything, you’ve got a little girl.

Guess what, guys? Zero fizzes. This REALLY threw me for a loop, as it agreed with all other tales that we were having a girl. I have been adamant since day one that this little baby is a boy. And I am never wrong don’t like being wrong. But a little, tiny, girl?! If we find out it IS a boy, I’m writing ALL the old wives – all of them – and calling them out for the frauds that they are.

Also, I’m starting to get a little bit of a bump. Sooooo, that’s weird.

pregnancy week 14 lemon

