I’m not sure where you’re reading this from, but I hope it’s somewhere where the weather ISN’T 48* and rainy on May 24th. WTF Mother Nature?!  Obviously you’ve got some stuff going on and I get that. But didn’t anyone ever tell you not to bring your personal problems into your work life? Don’t take it out on us. Damn!

It’s supposed to unofficially become summer this weekend. We’re going to celebrate Five Things Friday by discussing the songs that come on the radio and immediately cause me to roll my windows down, crank the stereo up and belt out lyrics like I’m Whitney Houston. (You know. Alive Whitney Houston. Also, sober Whitney Houston. You get it. The point is that I think I’m a fantastic singer, especially great in the car, and I’m sometimes astonished that I’ve never come across a record agent in the car next to me at a red light who is listening to me sing and says to himself “Self, we need to SIGN that girl!”)

Five Things Friday – Songs That Are My Jam

::confetti cannon::

Hit Me Baby (One More Time) – Britney Spears

Were you a teenage girl in the late 90s? Great. Then you feel me. I’m pretty confident that you also can not contain yourself when this song comes on. I’m going to also go ahead and assume that you try your best to simultaneously drive AND do the choreographed moves from the music video, which you learned by watching TRL every day after school.

paula abdul opposites attractPaula Abdul – Opposites Attract

When American Idol was about to premiere, I didn’t need to know anything other than the fact that Paula Abdul was going to be a judge. That was enough. Paula Abdul was my first cassette tape (“Forever Your Girl) and man, did I wear that out. As media transitioned from tapes to cds, she was misplaced for a few years, until I discovered it in a closet when I was 16. Luckily for me (and my sister and brother), our car ONLY had a tape deck, so we were able to listen to it as we drove to school my junior and senior year every.single.day. I also have fond memories of singing the “rap” part with my high school bestie, Crystal, as we cruised around town in the MV. (That’s what we called her mom’s minivan. If that doesn’t prove how cool we were, I don’t know what does.)

Wannabe – Spice Girls

If you hear this song on the radio and change it, we can’t be friends. Also, I can only be friends with someone who at least TRIES to get all of the following words right: So, here’s a story from A to Z. You want to get with me? You gotta listen carefully. We got Em in the place who likes it in your face. We got G, like MC, who likes it on an easy. V doesn’t come for free, she’s a real lady. And as for me, haha, you’ll see. Slam your body down and wind it all around.

Readers, I’m now going to ask for a collective “ziga zig ahh”.

I’ll Make Love To You – Boyz II Men

Because this song makes you think that you’re just as sexy as John Krasinski is when you sing it. (FF to 7:02)

Don’t Stop Believin’ – Journey

This is my ultimate jam. Whenever I hear it, I am filled with feelings of nostalgia. It reminds me of that one time it came on in a piano bar in Las Vegas and I screamed to Jason’s brother, “I F*#$ING LOOOOVE JOURNEY!” There was that one time we were leaving Bombers after celebrating my sister’s birthday, and it came on the radio right as my sister answered a phone call from my mom and I screamed near the phone “I F*#$ING LOOOOVE JOURNEY!”

Then, there was that one time it came on towards the end of our wedding and I screamed across the room to my new husband, “JASON! I LOVE JOURNEY!” (Screaming that you love Journey is a pre-requisite to singing Journey. I bet you didn’t know that. You’ve been doing it wrong for years!) He came running over to me and somehow, our entire wedding party (his brother, his two best friends, my brother – who was the dj – my sister and my best friend) had assembled in a sort of half circle, belting it out at the top of our lungs. It was one of my favorite memories from that day.

I’d like to think that deep down inside of us all, there’s just a small town girl who’s living in a lonely world.

Yay! Five Things Friday!

