I do not have my own office. I used to have my own office, which I took for granted. I complained that there were no windows. I whined about the bright yellow paint. I stomped my feet and made them move the copy machine out of there, so that nobody had a reason to come in and bother me.

Last year, the owners of the company decided that corporate management was too spread out over different buildings (which was true) and moved us to one location (which was a smart move on their part). While becoming centralized, we were all downgraded from our own offices to large-ish cubicles.

And don't do this. I HATE this.

And don’t do this. I HATE this.

There is nothing private about working in a cubicle. If The Husband calls me, I scurry into an empty conference room to chat. I don’t do it because I’m worried that people will over hear the details of my call – deciding what we are having for dinner is not the most intimate of conversations. But the mundaneness of it is EXACTLY why I scurry. Who wants to listen to someone else discuss what meats are thawing in the sink? Who wants to hear me ask The Husband the same thing I ask him every day (“Did Bumble chew anything?”)

My consideration for my co-workers (a couple of whom I actually like, believe it or not) keeps me from annoying them with these daily phone calls.

Not all co-workers are as considerate.

I don’t want to hear about whom your girlfriend slept with last night. I don’t want to hear about your kid’s day at school. I don’t care that your children are fighting, or that neither of them will throw in a load of laundry for you. I’m not waiting on pins and needles, hoping that you and your mother decide who is making what for Christmas Eve.

If you need to give your husband a grocery list; if you are compelled to verbally debate your different lunch options; if you have to call your doctor to discuss test results – do it in a different room.

I don’t want to hear about. He doesn’t want to hear about it. She doesn’t want to hear about it, either. Have some consideration for those around you. Believe it or not, sound travels over these gray monochrome half-walls of ours.

