“People get lost when they think of happiness as a destination. We’re always thinking that someday we’ll be happy, we’ll get there. But happiness is a mood, a condition, not a destination. It comes and goes and that’s ok. If people thought of it that way, they’d find happiness a lot more often.”

I am sometimes ashamed to admit to what is on my DVR. You are certainly allowed to watch whatever you’d like in the privacy of your own home.  But, on the other hand, as a 25-year-old, I try to shy away from allowing the world to know that Tuesday nights on The CW is my creme-de-la-creme of television – One Tree Hill and (the soon-to-be cancelled) Life Unexpected*. 

I heard that quote on One Tree Hill and facebooked it. I thought it was a sweet sentiment.  I got several “likes” and comments. I came clean and told them I stole it from the show.  But just because it came out of the mouth of a dreamy guyon One Tree Hill, is it any less poignant?

*Life Unexpected has a solid veteran cast (Shiri Appleby of Roswell and Kerr Smith of Dawson’s Creek to name a couple) and a – gasp – original concept for a tv series.  After getting pregnant in highschool, Cate (Appleby) and Nate Basil (Kristoffer Polaha) give their child up for adoption.  Fast forward 16 years, when she ends up on their doorstep, looking for amancipation.  Now in their 30s, the two decide to raise the daughter they gave away all those years ago.

Sounds sappy, but think Gilmore Girls-esque dialogue.  Apaprently, The CW doesn’t think it will last the seven seasons GG did, as they recently stopped production on the show.  With most of the channel’s programming taking place in a highschool (Hellcats, Vampire Diaries), I think it’s time for me to grow up and throw in my teenage drama towel (and hope that ABC sees the family values and picks LUX up for another season).

