Or, at least, that’s the belief that some mothers claim to have when they offer their un-solicited advice as they criticize how others raise their children.  I’ve seen this post by a blogger named Cop Wife popping up all over the internet.  In a nutshell, she let her son, a preschooler, dress up as Daphne from Scooby Doo for his class Halloween party.  (Check out the post and see how adorable he looks.) None of the other children seemed to be bothered by the fact that this little boy was dressed as a girl for Halloween. However, there were three mothers who made their opinion known.  Cop Wife writes:

Two mothers went wide-eyed and made faces as if they smelled decomp. And I realize that my son is seeing the same thing I am. So I say, “Doesn’t he look great?” And Mom A says in disgust, “Did he ask to be that?!” I say that he sure did as Halloween is the time of year that you can be whatever it is that you want to be. They continue with their nosy, probing questions as to how that was an option and didn’t I try to talk him out of it. Mom B mostly just stood there in shock and dismay.

And then Mom C approaches. She had been in the main room, saw us walk in, and followed us down the hall to let me know her thoughts. And they were that I should never have ‘allowed’ this and thank God it wasn’t next year when he was in Kindergarten since I would have had to put my foot down and ‘forbidden’ it. To which I calmly replied that I would do no such thing and couldn’t imagine what she was talking about. She continued on and on about how mean children could be and how he would be ridiculed.

Excuse me, Mothers A, B & C, but, if you haven’t heard, children are impressionable.  Do you think a five-year-old wakes up one day and decides to criticize the way other children talk and dress? Or do you think that maybe they hear people they trust and love and respect speaking that way day in and day out and slowly start to internalize that it is ok to behave that way?

Luckily, for this little boy, his mother is more concerned with his happiness than she is what other adults may think of a boy dressing up as a girl – for Halloween.

“If you think that me allowing my son to be a female character for Halloween is somehow going to ‘make’ him gay then you are an idiot. Firstly, what a ridiculous concept. Secondly, if my son is gay, OK. I will love him no less. Thirdly, I am not worried that your son will grow up to be an actual ninja so back off.”

